Makin’ Bacon Cupcakes

Lately, bacon has been getting the star treatment. With the world dominated by foodies and health nuts (myself included..in both categories), bacon is constantly rising in popularity. From bacon placemats, bacon band-aids, to bacon scarves: everyone wants a bit of bacon. I find it really interesting to hear people talk about foods they couldn’t give up. People, myself included, have such an emotional bond with food that when they think about giving up one beloved food for the sake of health, the idea of a diet becomes unfathomable. For me, it’s ice cream, but I imagine the idea of never having bacon again would also throw me into a fit. There is just something about the peppery, sweet, fatty taste of bacon that can’t be replaced or given up.

Thankfully, we don’t have to! In the July issue of Cooking Light, I found a Bacon-Cheddar Corn Muffins recipe that was absolutely perfect for an upcoming Barbeque at pair of foodies’ house. The idea of bacon in a muffin made me smile. I love when I see food outside of it’s normal habitat and bacon in a muffin wrapper definitely qualifies. The recipe was quite easy to follow and with husband’s help in cooking the bacon, it was easy to mix together prior to going to bed. Another thing I love about bacon is how the perfume of cooked bacon hangs in the air long after the meal is served. It’s almost like the bacon’s calling card, but the wafting scent of cooked bacon sent me into a deep sleep filled with dreams of peppered Applewood Bacon and B.L.T. sandwiches. Other than the enjoyable scent of the bacon, the other fun bit of the recipe was curdling the milk with lemon juice. I took a few pictures because (1) it’s cool to watch and (2) I had to wait two minutes for the brew to curdle fully.

In the end, the muffins were almost completely eaten (except for 2) at the party. And while they were a bit dry by the end, I think this could easily be fixed by not using Fat Free Kraft cheese and following the recipe. (God bless Husband, he’s so used to my ‘light’ cooking that he naturally grabbed the FF stuff.)

5 Comments

Filed under baked good, Cooking Light, southern

5 responses to “Makin’ Bacon Cupcakes

  1. Looks good! I love bacon too…. I think I’d have a hard time cooking the bacon and then not eating it right away! Have you seen that Vosges does a bacon chocolate bar now? I’ve been dying to try that one out! Here’s a link to it: http://www.vosgeschocolate.com/product/bacon_exotic_candy_bar/exotic_candy_bars

  2. Oh wow! Chocolate bacon! I think we need to have a bacon themed party.

  3. That would be excellent! Everyone would have to wear the bacon bandaids, even if they don’t have a boo-boo.. It would be like your mandatory tattoo for the evening!

    Did you also see how Martha put bacon right in pancakes? I think it was in MSL magazine… I also found bacon-wrapped tater tots on Rachael Ray’s website… what a versatile ingredient!

  4. I didn’t see the RR bacon-wrapped tater tots but wow that does sound good.

    And yep, everyone would have to wear a bacon band-aid to attend my party. It would be like our bacon temporary tattoo or something.

    I did catch the bacon pancakes with Martha. Do you ever watch her show? I miss it now during the summer months.

  5. Not that I’m impressed a lot, but this is more than I expected for when I found a link on Furl telling that the info here is awesome. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

